Sci-Fi Character modelling help

Okay I’m getting into modelling now, I have some experience with max (rigging, some UV skills, and mesh modding) and wanted to remake this picture:

into a 3d model and port it to source.

I right now have a basic female mesh, and am making her shirt:

http://a.pomf.se/bbgznb.png

I am looking for tips of how could I recreate that image (modelling in general), and maybe some links for apparels for her helmet and microphones and those stuff hanging around.
I would also be happy if someone pointed me out a character that resembles her, and models from other armor from other character so I could make a mesh mod.

Huh. Now that is an interesting rig. My suggestion would be to get used to using the extrude function. I know thats kind of rude sounding, but honestly in all of my experience, I use THAT tool the most when blocking out my meshes. Also, it helps if you plan ahead when making a piece. IE, if you have a microphone like the one in the picture, a single cube, but with say… five lines wide, three deep and two high, you should be able to make it fairly easily with the point adjustment.

For example. Microphone Example I took the same block that I mentioned above and moved the points using the scale and location adjuster to make the basic shape of the microphone, and then used extrude on the center line section of polygons. That made the metal stripe that supports the shell of the mic.

Also, I just realized… that camera lense is VERY thin depth wise. @_@ Its actually unfolded from the helmet… Huh.

EDIT: As a modeler and texture artist, I have found its a VERY good idea to have a seperate folder for texture bases. Anything from crystal images, to the wires and even the carbon fiber coating most high tech armors get nowadays.

That covers the microphones, and to think that i still need to learn how to make decent textures, sigh…