Send an array to client

Hi

I need to send an array of data which can be very long, from my server init.lua to my cl_init.lua.
Should I use net.Send()? Split it up?

net.WriteTable, but it has limit of 64KB. What’s the data you are trying to send?

I will send an array like { “weapon_crowbar” } and it can be 100 of those.

Why don’t you just make the table shared if you’re going to be using it on the server and on the client?

It’s not net.WriteTable that has a 64KB data limit, it’s net packets as a whole.

I’m quite new to LUA; how would I do that?

You do that by creating a file that is ran on the server and on the client while being sent to the player. Just like a shared.lua file within a gamemode.

[editline]11th September 2013[/editline]

What is contained in your table?

So I put my file in lua/autorun/?
I want to send an array containing { “weapon_crowbar”, “weapon_glock” }, it can contain alot more than that.

Post your table content ( Using pastebin or

tags ) So we can estimate what needs sending and what not.

By "making the table shared" is meant that you should put the table into your shared.lua of your gamemode. The shared.lua then must be included from init.lua and cl_init.lua as well as have AddCSLuaFile() on its first line, but I assume you already have it anyway.

@EvacX, I know, the context of my post wasn't the best though, my bad.

I don’t have anything in it currently, its for an inventory.
When the player joins, his stuff should be loaded from the database, put in the array, sent to client for derma menu, save it in client side and let player use items or add items to the inventory, and on player disconnect, save the array to the database.

Okay, then you should use net library, but keep in mind the 64KB limit of one message.