Sequel, not Remastered

I’m really new to the facepunch forums and I certainly don’t want to speak on behalf of facepunch but I wanted to voice my opinion as a fan. I’ve been seeing a lot of people throughout the forums unhappy with how s&box is going to handle gamemodes and servers (I don’t think anything is set in stone as of now but I think I have the general idea on how it’s going to work). Some people are upset that the focus is on the gamemodes rather then the servers they are hosted on. I want remind people that this is supposed to be a sequel, not gmod with better graphics. I argue this change is beneficial and necessary for multiple reasons.

Garry’s Mod’s fanbase is aging. I feel in order to introduce a younger and wider generation of gamers to what facepunch has to offer, you need for it to be simpler, easier, and quicker to access the content people are making. Waiting 20 mins to join a server because it needs to make sure that you have a 13GB player model of generic anime girl #492 or searching the workshop page for a certain addon because you just joined a server and see pink and black squares everywhere isn’t something people like doing–especially if you’re young or technologically challenged.

Facepunch as a company has grown A LOT since gmod was first released. Their reputation becomes more important the bigger they get. By putting the focus on gamemodes I feel that game creators will be incentivized to make their gamemode more accessible to a wider audience. As a result, it will reduce instances of loading into servers of big breasted anime women using a certain sexual assault SWEP on you then vaping into the distance to move onto the next victim. Over the years, I’ve become desensitized to stuff like that, I think a lot of us have been. But to a new player (and in all honestly anyone who is normal), it can be a lot to take in and probably isn’t what facepunch is most proud of.