Sharing variables across server and client

I originally posted this on the dark rp forum, but this one looks a bit more active and I figure this isn’t a problem specific to dark rp, but more related to how the lua’s work

I’m fairly new to lua and I’m not sure where to go from here. I have an sv_updateAnnouncement file with a timer in it. It’s set up such that it will update a string when it is triggered. However, I want that string to display on a hud element on the users screen. I thought that by defining the string to be used in an sh_init file, it would be shared between the cl_hud file and the sv_updateAnnouncement file, but at the moment, the text is not being drawn. Here is some of the code I have in them

sh_init:
teams= {
team1 = “team1”,
team2 = “team2”,
team3 = “team3”,
team4 = “team4”
}

event= {}

event[1] = “event1”
event[2] = “event2”
event[3] = “event3”
event[4] = “event4”
event[5] = “event5’”
event[6] = “event6”

totalEvent = 6

teamEvent= {}
teamEvent[teams.team1] = “”
teamEvent[teams.team2] = “”
teamEvent[teams.team3] = “”
teamEvent[teams.team4] = “”

sv_updateAnnouncement:
math.randomseed(os.time())

local eventTime = 30

timer.Create( “Event”, eventTime, 0, function()
if (true) then
for k,v in pairs(player.GetAll()) do
DarkRP.notify(v,0,4,“New Event”)
local newEvent1 = math.random(1,totalEvent)
local newEvent2 = math.random(1,totalEvent)
while (newEvent1== newEvent2) do
newEvent2= math.random(1,totalEvent)
end

teamEvent[teams.team1] = event[newEvent1]
teamEvent[teams.team2] = event[newEvent2]
teamEvent[teams.team3] = event[newEvent1]
teamEvent[teams.team4] = event[newEvent2]
end
end
end)

cl_hud:

local function HudClass()
draw.RoundedBox(6, HUD.PosX+5, HUD.PosY+HUD.Height-24-5, HUD.Width-10, 24, Color(0, 0, 0, 200))
local currentJob = LocalPlayer():getDarkRPVar(“job”)
local teamMessage = “”

if currentJob == “team1” then
teamMessage = teamEvent[teams.team1]

elseif currentJob == “team2” then
teamMessage = teamEvent[teams.team2]