Simple gamemode tutorials?

Hello, I am new to lua and i’m looking for good tutorials for making a gamemode in GMod 13, googling didnt help much as most tutorials are from GM12, and the information in the wiki is too little for things such as Derma menus, I am also confused with the “init.lua, shared.lua, cl_init.lua” uses and how do I use them as well as where do I put some code in.

Any help at all would be appreciated.

This will show you how to setup the files for a gamemode for gmod 13
Once you have the files in order, and you can see your newly created gamemode in game, you’ll be ready to start.

From that point on most of the tutorials from gmod12 should still work, thou in my opinion it’s generally better to mess-around with stuff on your own, rather then following a tutorial line by line.

“init.lua, shared.lua, cl_init.lua” are the base files needed for a gamemode, they represent code that will run in different ways.
code in init.lua will only be run on the server while code in cl_init.lua will likewise only be ran on the client.
(you’ll come to understand that processes are separated; IE: You don’t render things on a server, you render from a client)
It goes without saying the code you write in shard.lua is executed on both the server and the client.

Here is a bit of server side code you can put into init.lua and mess-around with to get used to things
[lua]
local function ExampleHookedFunction( ply )
print( ply:GetName()…" joined the game.
" ) --This will showup in console on the server
end
hook.Add( “PlayerInitialSpawn”, “some_unique_name”, ExampleHookedFunction )
–The easiest way to think of hooks is ‘Hooks run functions when certain things happen’
–This hook runs the the given function whenever a player is spawned for the first time
–The hook passes the player entity as the first argument, which in the above is designated as ply

function ExampleFunction (ply, cmd, args) --ply is the entity that called the console command