Simple Question

There is a way to build thrusters with wire so they can hold a specific altitude right?
How do you go about making something like that?

Well, you could just use a vector thruster and have it thrust towards vec(0,0,Alt-entity():pos():z())*-1 so long as the chip is right on the thruster.

Not sure I understand what you’re saying. I’m just an amateur builder. I know very little.

No.

you should go about this using a delta chip. And gt118 you are WRONG!

Thruster pointing down or vector thruster with -1 Mul on Z

Mul = HoverHeight - Range - $ Range

Range being a ranger facing downwards and HoverHeight being your height variable.

Simple question, simple answer

this is the most basic way to hover something, you’ll figure out better ways but this is a good starting point.

Thanks, I don’t quite get it now, but once I turn on Gmod, I’m sure I’ll figure it out.

I tried looking for a gyro stablized tutorial on youtube so that we could end this thread quickly, but I couldn’t find one. Lol.

Sorry I couldn’t help.

Note that Hunta’s solution will hover a certain height above the ground (conforming to terrain) while Lyinginbedmon’s will hover at a certain height no matter where on the map (like a hoverball).

If you don’t understand either maybe you should just stick with hoverballs :downs:

Your right. It depends if you want it to hover statically or dynamically.

Dynamic hovering would basically be 3 or more rangers pointing downward with 1 thruster for each ranger. A simple smoothing equation for each set of ranger and thruster would be all you needed for proper hovering.