Simple vector question

I’m not very good with vectors so I just need a little help. I am parenting a hat to the player and with the current code the hat is slightly in the wrong position. How would I set the position of the hat so that it is 10 units in the direction that the player is facing? Currently I am using the tf2 hat code, but I just need the hat to move slightly towards where the player is facing, any ideas? Thanks

[lua]
if owner:GetRagdollEntity() then
owner = owner:GetRagdollEntity()
elseif not owner:Alive() then return end

local boneindex = owner:LookupBone("ValveBiped.Bip01_Head1")
if boneindex then
	local pos, ang = owner:GetBonePosition(boneindex)
	if pos and pos ~= owner:GetPos() then
		self.Entity:SetPos(pos + ang:Forward()*1 + ang:Right()*-1.5)
		ang:RotateAroundAxis(ang:Right(),-85)
		ang:RotateAroundAxis(ang:Up(),270)
		self.Entity:SetAngles(ang)
		self.Entity:SetMaterial("\models\gmod_tower\majorasmask.mdl")
		self.Entity:DrawModel()
		return
	end

[/lua]

self.Entity:SetPos(pos + ang:Forward()1+ ang:Right()-1.5+ang:Up()*10)

That seems to make it float above the player’s head :s

iirc ang:Up() should be forward/backward on the head bone

Updated

Now the mask goes to the right of the player :S

Then maybe, just maybe it’s ang:Right()?

I would just use this and then adjust the x, y, z accordingly until it sat correctly on top of his head.

I tried that, by adding Vector(0,0,10) but then when the player faces in different directions the mask changes it’s position and starts going inside the player’s head.

Try reading his post again.

Sorry, ok you mean adjusting the values of the angles? I haven’t really done much with angles and vectors before, but I will try that.