Some questions about a clan tag manager I'm thinking up

Basically, I’m trying to create a program that will take a “tag” (clan tag, etc) and make sure its applied to the clients of the associated user group (and no other clients). I’ve hashed out some code, but I’m sure I’ve got mistakes, so I’m more or less ready to release what I have and take the brunt of the “yur dum” comments now. Basically, if anyone has any thoughts as to mistakes I made, better methods for what they see, or can otherwise fill me in on questions I raise in my code’s comments, I would be grateful.

-Multi line comments don’t work in this syntax highlighter? I broke them up.
-I’m very new to lua. Would like confirmation I’m doing the tables in a way that makes sense, and for k,v in ipairs in a way that makes sense. Would something else work better?
[lua]
if ( SERVER ) then
local LocalPlayer() = ply() – did I do this right? Serious lua newbie

-- put each user group as its own key in the groups table here. This default example includes the default "superadmin" and "admin" groups, and a custom "regular" group. 
    -- Include every group you have a tag for. You can also include a "group" for bots- name the group "BOT". Bots will automatically get this "[BOT]" tag. 
    -- If no "Bot" group or tag is present, no tag will append to the bot's name.
local groups = { 
		superadmin = { 
			tag = {"[SUPER]"}} -- the tag is [SUPER]. It's in quotes to denote that it is a string.
		admin = {
			tag = {"[ADMIN]"}}
		regular = {
			tag = {"[REG]"}}
		BOT = { -- The "BOT" group. If you don't want or need a bot group, just leave delete this line and the next line.
			tag = {"[BOT]"}}
		}  

-- get the ULib users.txt file.

function getuserstxt() 
	userfile = file.Read( "Ulib/users.txt" )
end

-- update the users.txt file. For now I'm hooking "PlayerConnect" because I need to find a better hook (maybe SetUserGroup? Can I hook SetUserGroup? Any suggestions?)