Source 2 Circlejerk/Speculation Thread

What are you looking forward too in the new version of Hammer and Source 2? I’m specifically excited for the new streamlined content creation. It may make mapping far less tedious.

A branch of Source 2 is already out though, with the new Hammer and stuff (Dota 2 Workshop Tools Alpha). The only thing I would look forward to is an option to export Source 2 maps as VMF.

The glimpses at DOTA 2’s map editor made me want Half-Life 3 more than anything. Imagine the modding scene, holy shit, it’ll be a new golden age

I think the engine needs support of adding your own shaders at ease. I’m no coder, and I really don’t know crap when it comes to how game engines work, but being able to add your own texture shaders such as parallax occlusion would be nice.

As of right now we have a very limited variety of choices on how we want our textures rendered, I just thought it’d be nice to have it…i don’t know…addon based?

The fact there’s seemingly limitless distance a map can actually go, I’m excited to see how this pans out. If GMod does get a Source 2 version when, if ever, the full version comes out (as it’s in Alpha I can see why Garry has expressed his view of it being pointless, basically) whether as a game or the engine. We could do so much more, GMod would be even better.

I wonder if there are any Source 2 tutorials. I kind of find it a bit confusing.

There’s some good information here: https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Dota_2_Workshop_Tools/Level_Design
The section on Basic Construction is particularly useful.

It would be like 2006-07 again. TONS of mod teams that actually produce stuff because they are directly competing with one another again. Now all that’s really left of the old Source modding scene since BMS finished are kids that post overly ambitious projects with an indefinite 'TBA’release date.

Well that, and the Gmod community, the CSGO, TF2, DOTA and SFM workshops of course.