source sdk - problems !

Guys im having problems with my sdk, hammer wont open, half life 2 deathmatch wont open so that i can use hammer, i dont know what to do, any ideas ?

Game - halflife 2: deathmatch
Engine - halflife 2 - EP 1

Umm…?

Give us more information, for example, what happens when you try to launch hammer?

Does it crash, or does it exit just after starting it?

nothing happens, it doesnt open, once it did and it said missing game configuration but it doesnt open atall same with hl2:dm

Tried clicking that button, “Refresh game content” or something? (can’t remember what it says exactly)

its my first time using sdk so nothigns changed apart from the game, but half life 2 dm wont even open it exits as soon as its opened

Have you started hl2dm atleast one time before opening source sdk/hammer?

No, i try launching half life 2 deathmath but it doesnt open it says prepairing to launch game but the box goes away after around 5-10 secs then nothing happens

That’s probably your problem then.

When you launch hl2dm, check the processes list in the task manager, if hl2.exe is running but is only taking < 30 mb ram, close the process tree, then try launching dm again, if the same thing happens, repeat.

Try 2-3 times.

how do i do that becuase i cant get hl2;dm to even open, i cant get to the menu on hl2;dm

I know, you said that.

open the task manager, then launch hl2 dm(in window mode) then monitor the task manager for any processes that opens and closes very quickly.

also, do you find a “gameoverlayui.exe” or something when you try and launch hl2dm?

If not, that might be why you can’t launch dm, i havn’t searched for a solution for this, all i have ever done is what i said in a previous post.

To open task manager press Ctrl+Alt+Delete. If you are running vista/7 click on the “start task manager” button. If you are running windows XP it should open automatically.

Dude i dont get this task manager stuff, i have it open but what do i do now ?