SteamID Banlist Service: A discussion on handling repeat violators (aimed at Server Admins)

This has been tossed around before, but typically by people who haven’t thought it through and have no experience managing a service like this. I have gotten to the point where I’m willing to take this project on starting with a small group of servers and expanding as popularity and demand require. I have almost 15 years experience designing and developing software applications, managing servers and databases as well as creating and consuming API’s in various formats. However to be successful I need the help of seasoned mod developers who work with Steam and are familiar with the caveats to poke holes and help develop this idea to meet their needs. My ideal goal would to become a 3rd party service for hosting providers / individuals owners running steam based game servers that want to crowd source ban lists that can be easily imported/updated into existing tools.

Please keep in mind this is conceptual discussion, not technical design and assume best practices involving API’s would be used.

PROBLEM:
What this service is attempting to address is to provide the community with a list of SteamID’s that are associated to known repeat offenders. You cannot block by IP, but you can by SteamID. The paywall of $15 for the game prevents most from creating new steam accounts buying the game and coming back. Currently there are multiple hacks in the wild that are not caught by most programs and certainly not VAC. No service exists that allows an administrator to consume a constantly updating list of steamid’s that can be filtered based on that server admins tolerance.

CHALLENGES:

• Two-way trust. Admins have to trust the data in the service, and the service has to trust the data coming in.
  • Robustness. The service has to be able to mitigate the neverending attacks that will coming from those who will start to lose access to the game.