StudioCompiler startup error

I followed all the necessary steps to make StudioCompiler work properly, however, when I attempt to start it up, it gives me the error message that says it can’t start because FreeImage.dll is missing.

I know I’m leaving out lots of information, but I don’t really know how to say it, just ask, and I’ll try and remember.

Any help will be much appreciated, thanks.

don’t use Studiocompiler, use studiomdl instead

I just tried it and when I use the one in the ep1/bin, it opens for half a second and closes, and when I use the orangebox/bin one, it comes up with an error message saying that it can’t start because vstdlib.dll is missing.

Why does my computer hate me so!?!

You have to run it from the commandline. Alternatively just drag and drop the QC file on top of it.

I’m quite new to modelling, so I don’t really understand what you mean by commandline or where I can get QC files from.

Could you please elaborate?

I’m sorry if I’m being too much of a burden, I know I could just look it up, but my searches so far have yielded no success.

Read that http://www.facepunch.com/threads/939746-Beginners-Guide-To-Modeling
I wrote it a year ago might help you.

Oh, yes, I was being an idiot, I remember what all this is now, so I gave it a try and…

Another error! Oh joy!

This time, the ep1/bin it still flashes on for only half a second, but it says that it has an error opening the .qc file, whereas the orangebox/bin one still has the vstdlib.dll error.

I would go as far as to say that it is Win 7 64-bit that is stopping me from using it, but judging by what has been said in other threads, I doubt this is the case.

Like I said, any help will be much appreciated.

Do start run cmd
then write “path to ep1 studiomdl.exe” “pathto qc file” let it run.
This way it won’t just flash.
Alternatively you can just write a batch file with

Path to studiomdl.exe %1
pause

And drag and drop the QC file on that.