SWEP:Reload singleplayer equivalent

I have code under the SWEP:Reload() hook that gets called only in multiplayer, and I want it to be called in singleplayer too. Is there a workaround for getting SWEP:Reload() code to get called in singleplayer?

It gets called serverside only in single-player for prediction reasons. You shouldn’t rely for it to be called clientside, even in multi-player – you should be networking where applicable.

Care to elaborate? I am not very experienced with Lua.

In a shared weapon file:

function SWEP:Reload()
   print("Foo")
end

Will only print serverside in single-player. In multi-player, it will print once serverside and one+ times clientside (for prediction). You should not rely on the method to be called clientside at all, and instead use manual networking for anything clientside-specific you need. Of course, posting your own code would help.

Basically I have a machinegun that ejects a bullet casing and a link (the thing that holds the rounds together in the belt) when fired. However, when the gun is first fired after either being reloaded or deployed, a starting link is ejected instead of the normal link. I know it sounds overkill, but I’m going for attention to detail on this one.

SWEP.Shell = "7.62x51"
SWEP.ShellLink = "vollmer_link"
SWEP.ShellLinkStart = "vollmer_link_start"

SWEP.HasNotFired = true

function SWEP:CreateShell(sh, link, stlink) --this code is called when the gun is fired
	if self.Owner:ShouldDrawLocalPlayer() then
		return
	end

sh = self.Shell or sh --regular bullet casing
	link = self.ShellLink or link --link
	stlink = self.ShellLinkStart or stlink --starting link
	att = self.Wep:GetAttachment(self.Wep:LookupAttachment("ejector")) --where the casings are ejected from

if att then
		att.Pos.z = att.Pos.z - 2
		dir = att.Ang:Forward()

if self.HasNotFired then
			self.HasNotFired = false
			FAS2_MakeFakeShell(stlink, att.Pos + dir * 3, EyeAngles(), dir * 100, 0.6, 5)
		else