Trying to get StudioMdl working

First of all, apologies for another one of what I can only imagine is a never-ending stream of threads on the exact same subject.

Let’s start by clearing the water:

1. I am not a newbie to game development, but I am relatively new to Hammer/Source. I have experience in Unity and UDK
  2. I have been googling quite a lot to get things working, and still doing so. However most found solves usually are outdated or do not mimic my issue
  3. I have tried searching the site, but all the results come up as a series of ‘xxxxx.xxxx’ (which I’m guessing is either a joke, or done for a reason)
  4. What I am trying to do: set up a pipeline for compiling models for use in a Source map

Which StudioMdl is currently stable/working?

I keep having it crash, with a freezeframe of the split-second console telling me that it can’t find the gameinfo.txt.

Tl;dr: Trying to get studiomdl working. Halp.

EDIT

So, I made a bit of progress using GUIStudioMDL 2.2, using the Orange Box SDK pointed to the TF2 folder. But now it can’t load my SMD:

The path to the smd only needs to be relative to the qc, it seems that you have the full path in the qc.
e.g.

I’m not sure if the full path should work, but I know that the above does.

I fixed the issue. Turns out to be some of the quotations marking the filepath were wonky… Compiled successfully.

On to the next issue, now, then. It’s not loading my texture.

Here’s my QC:

//prop_static_ws.qc

//your directory which contains the .smd files you exported from 3DSMax
$cd "K:\WORKSHOP\Videogame Workshop\Map Workshop\GM_Hinterland\SMD"

//directory within steamapps/yourmod/models and name of final model
$modelname "Column.mdl"

//needed to show hammer the model is to be treated as a prop_static
$staticprop

//your reference .smd
$body studio "reference.smd"

//uniform scale modifier – change value to modify the size of the object in hammer without re-exporting from 3DSMax
$scale 1.0