VPS questions about servers and webhosting

Hi, I am currently using hostgator and a game server (not ded)

I am new to VPS…

Like the best os? good ram?
and stuff like that

I am wondering if I can save money by getting a cheap VPS for a gmod server and/or webhosting.

Hostgator is really limiting me on what i can do since i am on shared.

The main goal of switching is to get my fast dl working on my webhost
I am unable to do symlinking because my server doesnt support fast dl, and i cant do a apache rewrite because of hostgator shared

Any good hosts you know in here http://www.lowendbox.com/tag/dallas/

I was thinking of going with http://www.flipperhost.com

If it wasn’t because they’re sold out… I would suggest WhiteLabelHosting.info
They’re running startup offers at the moment, so they’re very cheap.

I personally prefer running Linux - but if CERTAIN DEVELOPERS knew that there is a difference between A and a, it would also work… Since they don’t, the srcds for Linux keeps crashing whenever people spawn a Jeep/Jalopy… This glitch has remained unfixed since December 2010.
However Windows is always more expensive it is easier to administrate and tolerates code from even the worst loser devs ever.

If you can, you should also make sure to buy a XEN VPS as those are more stable (Because they rely on SWAP instead of Burst memory)

Whether you save money on it or not, depends on the amount of servers you want to host - and if you need any other services hosted…
Expect this from 512 MB of RAM: 1 x SRCDS + MySQL + Apache/PHP (Web) + BNC + FTP
1GB should be able to handle 2 or 3 SRCDS… It also depends on the slots you choose, I’m running 2 servers on mine with 14 slots each. They take about 400 MB of RAM (But they allocate a lot more)

Many ordinary gameserver providers also offer fastdl if you ask them :slight_smile:
Also make sure you get a server in your own region…