Wall Worm Model Tools - 3DS MAX to Source Faster!

Just stumbled across this script for 3ds max, it makes the qc file, exports collision and reference SMD’s, auto-generates LOD’s, and other features. Looks like it could be helpful.

Wow, I’ll test it out and report back

Its a shame that valve isn’t updating their mod tools to become more user friendly. This kind of stuff helps a ton. Thanks for the link.

This could be extremely useful. Neat.

Doesn’t work for 3ds max 2009 64 bit. The script stops at anything with “this.” in it.

Hello there. I’m the developer of the tool! I just updated it to support back to version 2008. Please let me know how it works for you. (Thanks for posting… I just started learning MAXScript when I started this tool… and I did not know that the keyword “this” wasn’t used in previous versions).

Thanks for that. I will test it out when I get the chance.

I don’t quite understand how to use it. How do I even bring the UI up?

Oh hey this is pretty cool, but does it have the ability to accept custom .qcs? This looks nice but the GUI doesn’t include vars that I use a lot like damage info etc. The LOD stuff looks very useful.

[editline]11th January 2011[/editline]

Oh wait I just finished watching the video and found out that it doesn’t auto-compile if you tell it not to, and therefore lets you edit the qc. Perfect!

Instructions for running are at http://wallworm.com/projects/utilities/docs/getting_started/running.html

It’s still in beta (though nearly done). I will create the UI menus/buttons for Max when it is officially out of beta.