Water Issue

Guys I am having an issue with a prop and particles that I hope you can help me with.

I have a custom-made swimming pool prop with a water feature that has running water coming down it - the water is a particle and setup in Hammer.

In Half Life 2 Episode 2, the design I have works as planned:

In Garry’s Mod, there is some weird issue and the water doesn’t show in parts where the prop is behind it:

[THUMB]https://i.imgur.com/yVXVWqz.jpg

It’s worth noting that this issue happens on other maps in Garry’s Mod, like a bespoke-built box for testing. However it does not happen with props from Half Life 2 Episode 2, so it must be some sort of model issue.

Can anyone lend some assistance? I’m at my witts-end.

So does the particle effect have any refract properties or anything along those lines?

Also the particles are drawn but is drawn behind objects?

I’m quite new to using particles, so my knowledge is limited. I’ve had a look at the properties and I can’t see anything about refract.

Also not too sure what you mean by your second question, sorry.

[editline]10th September 2017[/editline]

This video shows it working with Standard Half Life 2 Episode 2 props: https://www.dropbox.com/s/5u03cipvcawoyj9/2017-09-10_14-26-15.mp4?dl=0

Does the particles go transparent against all nearby surfaces (ie. Brush based wall) or just against the rock model?

My thinking is if the particle’s vmf has $depthblend or a set fadedist in it, it could be causing issues against all nearby surfaces. The fix would be just to // out the depthblend and test.

It could also possibly be simpler then that- perhaps the particle uses $transparent and for whatever reason so does the rock that could create plane issues causing the rock to appear “above” the water particle system.