Weapon Spawn rotation.

Bare with me i’m new to development and i’m trying to work on a game mode - the idea i’m trying to complete is to have weapons spawn in locations on a map for example like playing DayZ loot spawns in areas of a map however i don’t want it to be the same loot i want it to be different each time + i want the loot to re spawn after a certain time, is this possible? and does any experienced developer have any clue how we could get closer to achieving this i was looking into “ents.Create” but i just can’t shine a light on how to do it.

Simple way:

local PossibleDrops = { "weapon_crowbar", "weapon_pistol", "weapon_smg", "whatever_other_class" }
local LastDrop = 1

timer.Create( "LootDrop", 240, 0, function()

local IdenticalTable = table.Copy( PossibleDrops ) -- Create an identical copy of the PossibleDrops table, if you use a reference you would alter the original, which we do not want.
    IdenticalTable[ LastDrop ] = nil -- Remove the previous drop index from the table, to eliminate it being a choice for our next drop.

local NextDrop = math.random( 1, #IdenticalTable ) -- Generate a random index from 1 and whatever the length of the IdenticalTable is.

local Weapon = ents.Create( IdenticalTable[ NextDrop ] ) -- Create an entity by obtaining whatever class belongs to the NextDrop which is a random index.

if ( not ( IsValid( Weapon ) ) ) then

return -- If for some reason the entity isn't valid, don't carry out the rest of the code ( To prevent errors you should always make sure things are valid )

end

-- Carry out whatever manipulations you wish to apply to the Weapon

Weapon:SetPos( Vector( x, y, z ) )
    Weapon:Spawn()

LastDrop = NextDrop -- Set the LastDrop variable to the NextDrop, that way when the timer calls back, this choice will be eliminated from IdenticalTable, as to not spawn the same weapon.

end )

Forgive me if the code doesn’t work, I came up with it on the fly.

Complex way: