Weird textures in Gmod?

I just started playing Gmod on Gm_Construct and for some reason every shiny surface in the map is covered in very large, and distant looking pink and black checkerboard thingy. It just suddenly happened when I joined a multiplayer game. Very strange. Any one know what it is? Or how to fix it?

Pink and Black checkerboard is a sign of a graphic problem related to your graphics card. Usually this is just to much memory being processed, so your computer likes to give you a lovely checkerboard. Most of the time, restarting GMod, reconnecting to the server or refreshing your video settings will fix this. Try also if this isn’t working to lower your video settings a tad.

Ok. Thanks.

Don’t you just love people who speak out of their ass?

What do you mean?

He means it’s wrong.

Pink and black is the source error texture, if your computer had run out of memory, gmod would crash with a memory error. It’s not related to your graphics card even if it is a memory error.

The shiny surfaces suggests it’s a cubemap problem. This occasionally occurs in a number of situations, usually when you minimse the program and reopen it later, avoid doing this. Restarting the game will fix the error.

-snip-

Oh. Ok. Thanks.

Yeah, I have this problem quite frequently. If I close GMod and re-open it, though, it works fine.
Other people said that minimizing the game will cause this to happen, but I need to minimize the game in my situation (but that’s a whole 'nother story in a different thread)…

The black and pink checkerboard texture essentially means ‘the texture is missing’. Most games have some sort of texture which the surface or polygon defaults to when a texture is missing or corrupted.

Try doing a fresh reinstall of Gmod. Are you trying to run an older or custom version of gm_construct that possibly uses textures from a .gcf archive which you’ve deleted/un-installed/no longer exists?