What is better to do for wall corners?

Looking at aspects of compiling, looks and performance, what is the best way to do a corner on a wall - give detail & reasons why, please :).

Walls are 8 units thick.

Visually in game, they look the same…

Which is the best to do, or does it really not matter??

:wink:

I always use the first one. Don’t know which one is better.

I am not very good at this, but I’d say the second one, since it gives a straight line instead of a clipped one.
And, it takes less time to make, I use the second one in 99% of all the walls I make.

I use the 1st one, makes it easier to texture it.

I don’t think it really matters from an optimizing point of view.

hmm, the only difference i can imagine, is that the vertexed one, adds more visleafs - but i dont have a clue how they work really…

Disgaree huh?

Guess i’m wrong :stuck_out_tongue:

I pretty much always use the first, it looks cleaner. The 2nd one ends up with an extra face which is a bit bothersome when texturing. The first is probably more optimized because it doesn’t have that extra face but I doubt it has any impact.

If you will only see the wall from the inside it doesn’t matter. but if you can see it from outside, do the first.

Both ways are exactly the same performance wise. When VBSP runs it will merge the faces so you don’t have an extra face like in the second way.

However, the first way is harder to resize, but easier to texture.

I do the first 9/10. Unless I get lazy, then I do the second, I like the first as like people have said, texturing it is so much easier, and most times when I resize it I just use the vertex editor and pull the yellow handle I want moved.

or make two walls meet on one corner and put a small block to fill the gap between the 2 walls, textures dont need much adjustment then.

Like this?

why? That way you would just add a useless brush