What is the best way to learn Gmod lua?

Hello, I have been playing Garry’s Mod for a couple of years now, and I would like to learn to code!

I already know some basic things when it comes to gLua, but I want to know how to code more advanced scripts!
So, I was wondering, what’s the best way to learn glua?

http://forum.facepunch.com/showthread.php?t=1337945

First learn lua, then read and learn gmod lua off of the existing code in your garrysmod folder. Read the wiki to learn what the functions do.

If you do not know any other coding language i’d recommend you start off with an easier language than lua as it may be confusing for some at the beginning. Start with Java

Ratings probably give it away, but this is bad advice for a beginner who wants to start modding Garry’s Mod.

Lua is an excellent beginner’s language, with simple features that will directly translate to experience working with GLua.

Lua is a language that is harder to understand when you do not have any background.

You’d propose he learn a completely unrelated language based around a paradigm that is very different to Lua’s with a higher level of complexity?

Lua is by far the easiest language to learn as a beginner, you don’t have to worry about types, pointers, references, garbage, redefinitions … The list goes on.

Lua is VERY high level. I could understand your point in terms of C++ bindings or modules, but Lua itself is quite easy compared to Java, C++, or Python as a starting language

Lua is amazingly easy compared to low level languages like Java, thats terrible advice