What modeling program do you use? / Tips for a beginner

[h2]The question I have for you is, what modeling program(s) do you use, and for what? Also more optionally, do you have any tips for a beginner?[/h2]
Little Backstory: I’ve been a map designer for about four years now, most prominently in the Source Engine. As I’ve moved into different engines and look towards level designing as a profession, the large community and ocean of community/Valve-made free-to-use models and textures suddenly disappear. Since some game engines are almost completely model based, this is no longer a problem I can ignore. So, I’ve been looking into modeling and texturing. I tried Blender for a bit trying to follow this tutorial, but I’ve had no luck actually getting into it. Which is why I ask you, the modeling section of Facepunch! What do you use for modeling and texturing?

As for anyone who would be kind enough to throw some tips/suggestions my way, I’m looking into modeling/texturing strictly for game design. Most prominently in Source, and Unity. (I say this as I’ve seen more than a handful of tutorials about rendering scenes and such.) This including everything from buildings to vehicles, to people and physics objects. I’d also prefer to run on OS X (Mac), but I have Windows duel-booted for a reason. :stuck_out_tongue:

The best programs which would suit you and help you in the industry are all different, but let’s take a quick look.

One of the main programs for basic modeling is 3DS Max. This would probably be primarily what you use seeing as you’re seeking level design. In the industry, 3DS Max is preferred for world elements and certain hard-surface models, or simply fixing up rigs, performing bakes, and cleaning up new low poly character rigs.