What would be a good beginner's project for GMOD Lua?

I’m relatively new to Lua. I already know the syntax and the basics, of course, but overall I have no idea how to get it to work with Gmod. I have already used SourcePawn a lot plus C, C++, and C#, too. I also script in Expression 2 a lot, although I don’t think that really matters.

I was wondering, what would be a good way to start off? It’s really hard to do anything if you aren’t used to working with Garry’s Mod and Lua combined. Something that is simple, yet not overwhelmingly simple. It doesn’t have to be anything new, just something that can help a beginner establish a firm start.

I saw you on GMT earlier, so I’ll still point out some examples of things to try:

1. A chatbox?
  2. A basic admin mod
  3. A swep, something that you think would be cool.
  4. A SENT that does something funny?

I dunno, I just think you need to start where you feel there needs to be improvement or addition. Remember all those random things you’ve downloaded and thought, “hey, cool! I can do this!” only to find out that you get tons of lua errors? Go fix it :slight_smile:

Its actually in the reverse order!

Try takeing a look around the request section and see if anything catches your eye

A chatbox is the worst possible thing you could start with.

And there’s already more admin mods in the world than you’d ever need.

Doesn’t mean it can’t be good to get more Lua experience.

I didn’t know much serverside stuff until I made my admin mod :smiley: It’s good practice

I think my first non-5-minute Lua project was my personal admin mod. It doesn’t have a particularly fancy interface or anything, but it was good to learn server-client architecture and all that. It’s also nice having a personal admin mod that you can add to really easily to let you control bots or keep play-testers for other projects under control without bogging things down with a full-blown public admin mod.