Why are Current Garrysmod Programmers being left out of the Development Build Rollout?

I get that modders for Half-Life Alyx have direct experience with Source 2, but Alyx doesn’t let you get super in-depth with programming. There’s many past and current gmod programmers that can’t really do much with Alyx, but want to get their hands on S&box because we need to plan how we’re going to, you know, program gamemodes and addons on the new framework, since programming is one of the largest work sinks that go into working on stuff like this, at least, from my perspective that is.

I’ll admit, I’ve been programming in gmod for well over 7 years now and its what’s lead to my career in game development, so I’m probably biased, but I still have to ask that if this is going to be the direct successor to gmod, why not get gmod creators involved sooner rather than later?

UPDATE:
Edited the title to sound less annoying.

5 Likes

because they have :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Most Half Life Alyx creators that were chosen also have a long history with Garry’s mod as well, and know how to program in C#, or make assets for source 1 and 2, simple as.

7 Likes

Hmm, maybe my question should have been what the actual criteria were. I suppose if they’re trying to go for a very small rollout that would make sense since that’s a pretty small niche. I know C#, but most of what I do is programming so Modding Half-Life Alyx didn’t really interest me. Guess I should have learned to map.

3 Likes

I do programming and mapping for GMod, but only just recently started looking at Alyx’s hammer.

I guess a large problem is visibility or how much a person is noticed by the community. I am familiar with C#, but dont have and public projects posted any where. I have maps on the workshop, but I guess they are not as popular as some others. and PNRP, while a pretty deep gamemode, is not exactly popular since I did not post about it much in the community during its creation.