Why I lost appetite to play Rust "properly"

I have 431 hrs on record playing Rust. It’s been fun, I like this game. I like how it’s developing and new features are being added. All is nice and happy and pink.

But the game in my opinion is broken, and I discovered that there is no incentive whatsoever to play this game properly.

And before anyone says “play on communi…” and this sh*t, please continue reading because you don’t understand anything.

I’ve been playing on FP Singapore server most of the time, since several wipes.

Things were looking fine when I started playing few months ago. I hated the official servers at first. It was taking me hours and hours to setup a basic shelter. I learned many things and then moved to modded servers, but only to know that modded servers are basically similar to official servers. i.e. You build fast, but then get raided fast. It’s the same, or even worse if you consider the teleportation plugin for clans against solo players.

Eventually I went back to the official servers, and I learned to adapt and follow new play styles. It was fine. On certain occasions, my base would last for a couple of days without being raided.

I was trying to make friends and I successfully did. I joined a group of players and formed a clan. We were having fun & didn’t focus on building armored bases or any of the fancy stuff.

At that time, we would encounter a player or two who were hacking. They would mainly be using aimbots and speedhacks.

Later, around a month ago, no clippers invaded Rust. I got raided by a group of players, and one of them was a no clipper. All the time that was invested in building my base was wasted and things started to look ugly.

I lost the appetite to build a base again. Few days later I decided to give the game another shot, but again no clippers were still there and I lost the battle against them.

I thought that I should go to community servers. They are like vanilla, but with admins.