WIP: Garrymon Addon - Pokemon (Who are really NPCs!)

So I was looking around for TF2 skins the other day when I came across this pokeball model for the scouts Sandman ball, when the idea for a Pokeball SWEP hit me. I did some searching and found that there were indeed a few of them already out there, but none lived up to the standards that I was looking for. In my day we only have 151 Pokemon and we were damn proud of them!

So I started coding my own and man, it’s been a lot more tricky that I anticipated but I am keeping with it!

I think I have enough done (about half) of this to make a WIP thread for it.

Have some media:

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/9780864/garrymon%20catch.png

Updated: Improved wobble of ball
Added: Darkening on successful capture

Highly highly highly improbable capture of a full health antlion guard - 1% chance of ever happening.
[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvJ7BInv-R0

The formula I used (which I’m hoping is correct) is from: http://bulbapedia.bulbagarden.net/wiki/Catch_rate
and is as follows (copy pasta win)

There are a multitude of factors that go into determining whether or not you catch an NPC, such as:
-Their max health (ent:GetMaxHealth())
-Their current health (ent:Health())
-The rate of catch for each NPC (Determined by their size ent:GetPhysicsObject():GetVolume() / 1000) - I had to divide by 1000 to make it easier to work with
-Any status ailments on them (currently only checks for ent:IsOnFire(), will probably add a system later to determine if they were hit with poison damage recently for a poison check)
-There currently is no bonus provided by the ball, because it is simply the 1x Pokeball, but if I make more later (if I get the models) then I will add this variable in
These factors also determine how many times the ball twitches on the ground

Once you have that value (the “a” value) you then go on to calculate b, which is more directly related to determining the catch