Workshop addons/items & loading on server

Hello. i am new to Garrysmod servers and i am picking up quickly. I was using FastDL for the longest time and have since moved a lot of my maps over to Workshop. I would also like to move my Resource files over as well. such as models, materials, sounds, etc. my issue:

I can create the “addon” for workshop with the correct file locations;

materials/folder/file.vmt
models/folder/file.mdl
sounds/folder/file.wav

But i cannot get those file, meaning the actual materials to download the the clients. any help would be greatly appricated. i understand i am most likely missing a simple step (i hope).

Thanks

If you are converting to workshop you need to create a collection for the server to mount upon launch using: +host_workshop_collection WORKSHOPID -authkey YOURKEYGOESHERE in the .bat you use to launch the server. Then do a

resource.AddWorkshop( "104606562" )

in your resources.lua for each workshop item in your collection.

Creating collection and mounting - http://wiki.garrysmod.com/page/Workshop_for_Dedicated_Servers
resource.AddWorkshop - http://wiki.garrysmod.com/page/resource/AddWorkshop

I’ve already done that. and i know it is configured correctly because it downloads the maps needed. but this is a resource file with models and materials for skins and weapons in pointshop. i cannot get them to download to the clients pc for some reason.

I also know the specific addon is working because i added a .lua that has the resource.Addfile in there and when loading it says "downloading Xfile.XXX. and i made that lua just to test to see if it’s loading. Sorry if i’m asking stupid questions