Writing a backend for my s&box project

TLDR;

I write about how I write a Go server to act as a middle man between my database and
the S&box server.

Writing a backend for a s&box gamemode

I know the key bragging project showcases with no real effort or progress
get old fast, but I wish to actually contribute to the community, as I believe
many of you might want to consider something similar to this.

This post is mainly going to outline:

• How I would write a REST API in Go, with the Echo framework.
  • How to structure a database for both efficiency and seperation of concerns.

Coming from a roleplay background, I want to create a better type of roleplay
gamemode. My main influences probably root back to San Andreas Multiplayer
and having built these kind of gamemodes in essentially 3 games so far (Garry’s Mod, sa-mp, and GTA V with RageMP). I used to be a lead developer on what’s now gta.world

My coding background is a mix of languages, but mainly being focused on strongly typed languages
such as Go, C#, Java/Kotlin, etc.

My reasons for picking Go for this project:

• Go is pretty fast.
  • go build compiles to a single binary without external dependencies; making for very simple deployment.
  • Huge library + IDE support and active development community.
  • Subjectively feels lightweight compared to .NET and JVM applications.

The Project

The idea for this project is to create a REST API which interacts with my game
database, and have the game server call on this to retrieve and modify data.
This drops the need for an ORM running
in the sandboxed (pun) C# engine running in S&box.

Database

Let’s write a short feature list so we can figure out what needs to go where.

• Players should be able to have items in an inventory.
  • We must distinguish between players as they can have different permissions.
  • Players may purchase or rent in game properties.
  • They should also be able to place down furniture in their properties. This should be loaded in