XenonServers Game/Web Host Experience

I want to share my experience with xenonservers. I never hosted my own server with them, but I did gave support for people that used xenonservers and I was a developer for one of the servers that used them.

There my list of issues I have experienced with xenonservers:
1. Their claimed “20 min Avg. Response Time” is completely false. More like “20 hours Avg. Response Time”, it literaly took whole day to get a response from them. One of the tickets was request to delete some folders that couldn’t be removed trough FTP. Compared to other gamehost providers(notice that the task was way more complicated than folder deletion), xenonservers response time is aweful. And it’s not just the one ticket, all tickets I had were responded in 20 hours.
2. Support team knows nothing about issues. I had an issue where none could remotely connect to MySQL server(and yes, I did use “%” wildcard in Remote MySQL). I sent the timeout error to support, and they responded “do you have correct credentials?”, seriously? I had to send them examples of how wrong credentials error looks and how timeout error looks. After 5 days of proving them that I had all the correct information and that is something was wrong on their side, they responded “Ok, we’re going to transfer you to engineering department” … After 2 days, they have finally fixed the issue.
3. Updates takes whole day. Meaning none is going to be able to play for whole day(or more) on your servers when gmod update happens. Writing a support ticket won’t help either because it also takes a whole day.
4. For some reason when I provide link to the most recent binary module, they would google the module and download outdated module(gmod12).

My recommendation would be to stay away from this host as far as possible. Personally my favorite host is NFO Servers, updates are instant, and their support response time is literally less than 10 minutes.