Youtubers discuss the current state of Player interaction and KOS

Have a look, since it’s a topic that’s been discussed a lot here lately. Feel free to give your opinion!

Agree with the main points, there isn’t really that much of a problem with everyone killing each other and that the community should police it. Not really sure why this is such a huge discussion, I disagree that it’s harming the game in any way as well.

I have had A LOT of encounters since I started playing that weren’t just being attacked outright, made friends/joined small villages etc just with random people. Just last reset we had a valley with 3 groups of 2-5 in close proximity of each other, we started out fighting, then we all made a truce with each other and ended up helping each other fend off raids.

Like they said the danger/intensity is half the experience, artificially limiting that would take a big part of the game away. I have been killed many times while naked or just in general on sight, but it’s just part of the game, I wouldn’t be interested in playing it if going out and about wasn’t as suspenseful as it is.

i think there are a few problems in play here. 1) is that the game is still being balanced, and that imbalance can lead to people having advantages beyond what makes the game fun. this of course will be rectified as the game develops, but currently can lead to a very hostile and unpleasant experience, especially for new players.

1. is that there is honestly very little else to do in the game, and NPC threats become nullified the moment you have a bit of gear and a sleeping bag. once more content is added (read “other things to do than kill your neighbour”) again it will likely balance out a bit. but rust is a PVP game as much as a survival game, and killing each other is always going to be a part of it; don’t like it? you probably aren’t suited to it.